Newcomer
Pro Member
Pro Member
Followers
Following
Name
Cliff Kimura
Hello Everyone

I have the opportunity of purchasing another body to go along with my R5. Should I stay with the R5 or should I look at the R6?

Thanks!

Hello Everyone

I have the opportunity of purchasing another body to go along with my R5. Should I stay with the R5 or should I look at the R6?

Thanks!
For whatever this worth, I love my R6 and from everything I have read it has almost all if not all the features of the R5 save to 45 mp vs 20. And the R6 takes standard cards so there is a cost savings there and costs about $1400 less. I use mine for bird, aviation and landscape photography and I am not a professional just an avid amateur. So unless you require all of the features of the R5 I think the R6 will be great as a second body.

I’ve just bought a second body and stuck with the R5, mostly for the assurance that it’s identical in every way so I don’t need to do anything different when swapping between bodies. I also like the option of a heavy crop 45MP offers.

Hello Everyone

Thanks!
Or wait for the R7. Rumor has it that it has been seen testing in the wild. Late 20211 or 2020?

Or wait for the R7. Rumor has it that it has been seen testing in the wild. Late 20211 or 2020?

With the chip shortages it won't be late 2021 for sure and it's likely to be an APS-C camera. For wildlife that could make it a decent second, less expensive camera for R5 shooters as I'd expect it to have at least 20MPs which will give you more than the R5 in 1.6x mode so effectively more reach, but you've got that crop factor with every lens so for something who wants to throw a 24-xx on it and walk around you're likely going to need to spring for APS-C glass. And if the frame rates aren't up there closer to the R5 than the R6 its use as a second wildlife/sports camera may be at issue.