teebee67

Newcomer
Pro Member
Pro Member
Followers
Following
Name
Tony Benson
Hi and thanks for allowing me to join this group. I was into photography (mainly motorcycle racing) but hadn't done anything for over 40 years. Last year I decided to have a go at digital photography and bought a used Canon with several lenses. I quickly followed this with an new EOS 5D Mark 4 and bought the EF 100-400 and a Sigma 150-600. I photograph mainly wildlife and mainly birds. This year I upgraded to mirrorless with an EOS R5 and an RF 100-500 lens. I also bought the adaptor so I could use my Sigma (I sold the 100-400). I was not happy with the eye tracking and general focusing on my R5 and I am still in discussions with Canon re the problems. I have now bought an R7 and the focus and eye tracking are what I expected from the R5 (I think proving the R5 is faulty which I will take up with Canon). I am still learning the best set ups for the R7 and find this group to be very helpful.

Welcome Tony and thanks for joining up here! I've always been pretty impressed by the Bird Eye AF and tracking of my R5. It will struggle with some birds if the eye isn't all that clear, like goldfinches where sometimes it prefers to focus on the yellow streak instead, probably because of the dark eyes and dark red surrounding them. Are you running the latest firmware on your R5 (version 1.6.0)? There's also a firmware update for the RF 100-500 (version 1.1.0).

Hi Tony , welcome

Welcome Tony and thanks for joining up here! I've always been pretty impressed by the Bird Eye AF and tracking of my R5. It will struggle with some birds if the eye isn't all that clear, like goldfinches where sometimes it prefers to focus on the yellow streak instead, probably because of the dark eyes and dark red surrounding them. Are you running the latest firmware on your R5 (version 1.6.0)? There's also a firmware update for the RF 100-500 (version 1.1.0).