Canon R6 I R6 vs R7

tbar23

Pro Member
Pro Member
Followers
Following
Name
Trevor
I am quite new to photography, but have ramped up considerably over the last year. After years of dabbling, I got more serious last year and purchased my first non-phone camera since a 2000-era Nikon D40 DSLR - bought when my kids were born almost 20 years ago.
Not sure how serious I would get, I opted for the EOS Rp.
The Rp has been used for astrophotography as well as general-purpose (e.g. travel, events - prom / graduation, and family get-togethers).
In preparation for an African safari this summer, I purchased an RF 100-500mm lens and have started enjoying sports photography.
I’m also anticipating both photos and videos of my son next winter - where he does big air slopestyle ski events.
Current lens collection includes: RF 100-500, RF 50 F1.8, RF 24-105 F4-7.1 STM and a Rokinon 14mm F2.8.
So what’s the question, you ask:
Last night I read extensively about Canon’s other mirrorless cameras including the R, R5, R6, R7 and R10.
I am intrigued by a number of features, but the three that seem the most important to me are:
  1. in-body image stabilization
  2. improved auto-focus
  3. improved video capability
With that list of feature priorities, the R drops off the contention list, and I don’t think the R10 is enough of a step-up from the Rp to consider.
The R5 is quite intriguing to me, but let’s be honest, I’m still a newbie, and it isn’t clear that a $3900 body makes sense for me (haven’t ruled it out, though).
Roughly, that’s the process that has narrowed me down to R6 vs R7.
I’m still trying to wrap my head around the implications of a crop-sensor, but for safari, it seems like the extra reach out be fantastic. And assuming I understand things correctly, the downside is that I’m effectively slowing the lens down about a half-stop due to less light gathering capability of the smaller sensor.