R7 help

Renegade Viewfinder

Pro Member
Pro Member
Followers
Following
Name
Mario Gonzalez
I have been shooting sports for many years most recently was shooting with the EOS R (which i still have) but just got the R7 and was super excited. Took it out to the high school volleyball game and majority of my pics were blurry. This is my set up. R7 RF to EF adapter with my old sigma 70 - 200mm. I had it on person tracking, servo, H+ any suggestions what can do so this does not happen again. Thinking of just doing center point focus so does not happen again and cant afford a new lens right now. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

By person tracking are you talking about the first position with Face Tracking? Do you have eye detect turned on? Are you using back button focus? Does the lens focus normally if you aren't shooting live action? Do you have IS turned on for the lens and/or the body? If not, what are your shutter speeds?

In other words, a few images with EXIF and a little more information would help to give you proper recommendations.
:)

On another note, when I shot Nikon I found that I needed to update the firmware on my Sigmas with every new body introduced after Sigma made any changes required to get it to work properly with the new body. You may want to contact them to see if anyone else has reported incompatibility issues with the R7, but you should be able to test that just shooting a family member or yourself in the mirror.

I had the eye tracking on. Use back button focus. My lens does not have IS. I was shooting at 4000 F2.8 1/500. I will check on the firm ware on both my cameras. Really appreciate the info