DPRefugee from Massachusetts

rlk

Newcomer
Followers
Following
Name
Robert Krawitz
I've lost track of how many years I've been a member of DPReview. I've participated in innumerable discussions and learned a lot about photography, and tried to help others in that regard.

About me: I'm an amateur enthusiast who could probably call myself a semi-pro based on the fact that I've shot a small number of weddings for compensation. My wife and I have not been able to take vacations since COVID, and at present I'm focused on shooting sports for my alma mater (MIT). Membership (even as manager) in the basketball team helped me grow, and I want to give something back to the current generation of student-athletes, so I shoot photos of games to give them memories down the road.

I bought an R7 last fall. Much better camera than the 7DmkII I had been using, as good of a camera as that was when it came out. It's not perfect, of course, but nothing ever is. I'm shooting an RF 100-500 for outdoor sports (it's lighter than the EF 100-400II, and the extra range is helpful for football and soccer). For basketball, I'm using an EF 70-200, with a Viltrox 0.7x speed booster, which I mostly use because it brings the field of view of the lens to something more useful. I certainly have other gear; Tamron 16-300 for walkaround use, 17-55 EF-S which I put on the 7DmkII as my second body, Sigma 8-16, and some prime lenses, but my primary kit is built around the 100-500 and 70-200.

Compared to the DSLR bodies, the R7 feels more like an R10, so the R10 is more like an R100 (i. e. Rebel) and the R50 more like an R1000 (i. e. the Kiss series in Japan). But no matter, the AF still blows away the 7DII, and the low light performance at ISO 6400 and up is fantastic. I'm shooting OOB JPEG, normally only cropping and correcting tilt, and the images are technicall stunning (hopefully I capture the decisive moments anywhere near as well).