Followers
Following
Name
Allan Kravitz
City/State
Saddlebrooke, AZ
CC Welcome
  1. Yes
New to Canon mirrorless shooting on the go. I last canon camera was a 7D over 10 years old. local Photo club has convinced me to go to back button focus. Youtube has more than 4 version of how to set it up. I do macro and travel photography. Any suggestions.

Hi @allankravitz - I’m a back button newbie and probably not the best person to advise. I was preparing for safari and have been shooting sports and wildlife. I use two back buttons for focus - one for spot or area and one for eye detect.
If anything what I like best is the decoupling of focus from shutter release.

Hi Allan, I (shoot a lot of birds) too set mine up like Trevor: AF back button for spot AF and the star button for eye detect (as was suggested by certain YouTube videos).

Some other tweaks I made: I changed my DOF button on the front to switch between servo and one shot, though I'm not sure how useful you would find this. And I set up my C1 and C2 with settings for shooting birds with the only difference being electronic shutter (C1) and mechanical (C2). Attached a chart I find helpful.

Attachments

• shutter speed.jpg
    shutter speed.jpg
    80.1 KB · Views: 140
I have my R5 set up the same with back button for normal AF and star button for eye detect AF. I don't think I could now go back to using the shutter button for focus. Mind you, if you need to use a remote release it has to be changed back for the shutter button otherwise it won't focus. Unless I'm doing something wrong.

Hi Allan, I (shoot a lot of birds) too set mine up like Trevor: AF back button for spot AF and the star button for eye detect (as was suggested by certain YouTube videos).