Zoom Canon RF 100-500mm F4.5-7.1L IS USM

Canon RF 100-500mm F4.5-7.1L IS USM Lens
Zoom lenses

product details

Latest reviews

Super super telefoto!
Pros
  • Love the extra reach from my 6d and 100-300 EF
Cons
  • heavy to shoot offhand, will use the tripod more
  • expensive, but worth the upgrade. BB zero interest helped
Even without the 1.4 extender this lens is a beast! Looking forward to shooting the Blue Angels next year. Took it out to the harbor to shoot pelicans in flight (offhand) and into my first astrophoto attempt with Jupiter. Thrilled with my results! Really heavy, tough to shoot offhand!

Attachments

  • 2023-11-27 16.14.12.jpg
    2023-11-27 16.14.12.jpg
    73.4 KB · Views: 65
  • 2023-11-05 12.28.34-1.jpg
    2023-11-05 12.28.34-1.jpg
    254.1 KB · Views: 68
  • Like
Reactions: Bear and Redarty
Bear
Bear
It is a great lens!!!
Simply Awesome
Pros
  • Sharpness
  • Ease of use
  • Contrast
  • Macro ability
Cons
  • Weight
  • Cost
  • Not as fast as I would like (Aperture)
A lot has been written about this lens - and I have yet to see much negative written. Some QC issues on earlier copies and lens elements cracking but nothing of late and a truly awesome lens in my opinion.

I had the old EF 100-400 Mk I and thought it soft over 300mm. No such issues here !! This is one incredibly sharp lens and I have been blown away by it's performance.

Weight is OK.
Speed of focus good.
Sharpness and contrast ... well, awesome !
It is easy to handle and it's macro ability is shown all over the web.
The only downside I see is cost.
I do not use it a huge amount but I am glad I got it over the 600 or 800 lenses. I use it when I shoot birds ... I guess it need a tele converter but ATM i take the picture and crop as with an R5 the IQ is stunning.
4 members found this helpful.
Light weight 100-500 RF lens
Pros
  • Light weight! Sharp photos even when hand held at 1/40 seconds
Cons
  • Focusing may be an issue in very low light
I have using for last 6 months. I have uswd it in heavy rain and in very dusty environment and it focused flawlessly with sharp images. Most important is that it is light weight and focusing is accurate in light cloudy day and on sunny day.
Lens stabilization is excellent so one can get sharp hand held photos. Tripod collar is strong and fits snugly.
Would recommend this product?
Yes

Attachments

  • C9BCE7C7-4C04-477A-92B6-7FB4C5DB41E3.jpeg
    C9BCE7C7-4C04-477A-92B6-7FB4C5DB41E3.jpeg
    675.5 KB · Views: 276
One member found this helpful.
  • Like
Reactions: Robert J

product information

Category
Canon
Added by
Tim Mayo
Views
4,212
Reviews
6
Last update
Rating
5.00 star(s) 6 ratings

More in Canon

More from Tim Mayo

Share this product

Back
Top