prglassma

Newcomer
Pro Member
Pro Member
Followers
Following
Name
Bob Glassman
I have been using foto shop for about 21 years now mostly for product photography. Never did get into light room. With the 2021 release I am finding it difficult 2 get a lot of work accomplished. The memory requirements in dis requirements or absolutely crazy. I had to back date to 2020. Is anybody else found the same problem. I have a HP laptop running a rizen 5 3500 with 12 gigs of ram. Yes it still has an old hard drive in it and not an SSD, but it seems to work OK with 2020.

Anybody else experiencing the same situation. Course I'm running Windows 10 which is my first problem.

2021 PS with Light Room Classic open has dogged my Laptop... I thought it was just me.

It's not just you. I recommend you go back to 2020 but keep the existing new raw so that you can do enhanced if you want. But be advised, enhanced in raw is a huge hog also

I was having trouble with my 2015 iMac with 8gb of RAM, so I added another 8gb, and it helped immensely. But I needed something portable that I could download images to on site, so I bought a new MacBook Pro with the m1 chip and 16gb of RAM, and this thing flies with LR and PS both running.

I know that's not always an option, so I do recommend increasing RAM if your computer is configured to allow it. Newegg.com is probably the best place in the US to get it and they have a tool on their website to help find the right sticks for your machine.

Its really about ram and Win 10. On a mac, you actually have a good OS in Berkley System 5.

Don't discount upgrading your HD to a SSD. Win10 likes sides. One of my computers used to be fast. With subsequent os updates it has slowed down. I know it has an hd. I will have to check if I can upgrade the ram and swap out the HD for an ssd. It's an Asus laptop.