Ted.G

Newcomer
Pro Member
Pro Member
Followers
Following
Name
Ted
This R6 M1 is our first camera with dual sd slots and we are wondering what is the best way to utilize them. Should we use them as mirror images of each other in case one fails? Also on a side note, should we bother with saving jpegs or just stick to RAW? Thanks 🙂

It depends on what you want to output. I only shoot Raw so I mirror in the event a card fails. I friend of mine saves Raw to one and JPEG to the other.

So I guess the question is, what format do you use?

Hi, @Ted.G .

Different people use their card slots differently. If you are doing pro work, have duplicate images sent to both cards. Card failure is very rare, but in case one fails, you have the images on the other one.

Myself, I only record to one card, and it doesn't matter which. I'm not a pro. It is just for fun. It wouldn't be fun to lose my images, though, but that has never happened.

You can shoot JPG or Raw, up to you. If you shoot RAW, then you will need to process your images. That is (for me) one of the great delights in photography - the editing afterwards. But it's up to you. If you don't want to edit, you can just shoot JPG.

Some people even shoot both! I used to do that until I found out the JPG is just a useless sidecar file. So I stopped doing that. My phone is the exception, though. I shoot RAW and JPG on the phone. The latter is more convenient if I want to immediately send a copy to someone.

You can still edit JPGs but it's harder to correct color balances, and you won't be able to recover blown highlights.

Last edited:
If you use the mirror setting, make sure both cards are the same speed class. The camera's buffer performance will be determined by the slowest card.

If you shoot stills and video, set one card to store photos and use the other for videos. For me, this simplifies the process of downloading to my computer because I have separate folder structures for each type.