Greetings from North East England

trevjm

Newcomer
Followers
Following
Name
Trevor Martin
Hi everyone. I am so glad to had found a dedicated forum for Canon R mount shooters. I have been blundering around with an R5 for about 6-8 months now without really getting to grips with it. Work has been a bit brutal as well as being in the process of recovering from a serious bout of ill health that all got rather close to the edge as it were. Time to re-evaluate things etc. Retirement is looming (65 years old) and I want to get ready to be able to fully use all the benefits of my final chosen camera system (famous last words :) ). Anyway I look forward to learning from all you other Canon R system users as time goes by.

Best wishes

Trev

Hi Trevor. I joined this forum a few months back, this is my introductory post (copied and pasted to save me typing it again!). I’m in your part of the world, SE Northumberland. Retired 5 years ago.

I go back a long way. First camera my dad’s Praktica, then moved on to Olympus OM10, then to a succession of Canons, ending up a few years back with the 5D. Mirrorless really excited me and I ditched Canon and went into Fujifilm, first XT1 then 3. But then I got a bit bored with photography for some reason, but reading about the R7 and in particular its amazing autofocus convinced me to get back into it so I took the plunge and bought it with the 18-150 a week ago. I’ll be mainly using it for family, landscapes and birds, and so far I am mightily impressed. The ‘kit’ lens is much better than expected and I have the 100-400 on order. Hoping to pick up some tips from this community.

I have now got the 100-400 and it’s a cracking lens. Light, sharp enough for me, excellent IS. I’ve had this setup for about 4 weeks now and I‘m still blown away by its capabilities. The way it locks on, and stays on, to a bird’s eye is uncanny.