New to macro

I remember reading about an 'effective' aperture vs the actual aperture size. So even though the physical aperture size does not change the effective aperture does. It basically was saying that the effective aperture was equal to the actual aperture times (1 + the magnification). This is due to the physical aperture being further away from the sensor at higher magnifications. So an aperture of f/8.0 if used on a 5x mag would equal f/48.... 8 X (1 + 5). I've also read that once you get above f/20-ish diffraction starts to get bad enough that there's benefits to backing off. This is all new to me so I'm still playing, reading, learning. I read, I try, I see the results and come to my own conclusions with all that in mind. Since I have little experience I'm still on the steep end of the learning curve.
I think you are doing pretty darn well. I think that you can absorb all the theoretical information, but until you put it to work in the field you don't "really" know how it works. You are definitely doing that. The one thing I do know about the MP-E is that I focus stacked everything I shot with it. I used the widest aperture because it gave the best results, even though it took lots of work. I look forward to seeing more of your work.

Where in the US are you? If you are in the southern New England area, I could loan you my MP-E!

I think you are doing pretty darn well. I think that you can absorb all the theoretical information, but until you put it to work in the field you don't "really" know how it works. You are definitely doing that. The one thing I do know about the MP-E is that I focus stacked everything I shot with it. I used the widest aperture because it gave the best results, even though it took lots of work. I look forward to seeing more of your work.

Where in the US are you? If you are in the southern New England area, I could loan you my MP-E!