RonaldSill

Newcomer
Pro Member
Pro Member
Followers
Following
Name
Ron Sill
I am new to macro. I usually do landscape and bird photography. A back injury has me pinned down at home for the most part so I started reading up on macro using extension tubes and microscope objectives. So I started ordering the parts I needed and assembled something I finally started getting to work. Here's my first attempt at using all the gear I've assembled together to do this. I've only got a manual rail for now. This shot was 148 slices in the end so I see a great benefit to buying an automated rail eventually. For now, this is a black ant I picked up recently.

293580740_10224224932345052_4545217486163143983_n.jpg

This is really cool. I've wondered for a while how people do these, but am too lazy to do my own research.
Could you post a picture of your rig? Also, what software did you use to make the composite?

This is really cool. I've wondered for a while how people do these, but am too lazy to do my own research.
Could you post a picture of your rig? Also, what software did you use to make the composite?
Hopefully this works, picture of the 'lens' setup. Of course this whole setup would be mounted on a rail for my shooting. I use a manual rail so turn a knob between shots ever so slightly. I use Helicon for focus stacking.

Attachments

• 292708343_10224226961515780_4199634826924163006_n.jpg
    292708343_10224226961515780_4199634826924163006_n.jpg
    62.8 KB · Views: 51
Quite a setup! What's the contraption on the top? Is that a flash? If so, wouldn't the subject be in the shadow?

Quite a setup! What's the contraption on the top? Is that a flash? If so, wouldn't the subject be in the shadow?