View Latest Canon RF Lens Deals At: B&H Photo

Heinwan

Newcomer
Followers
Following
Name
Hein
Hi.

I am very new to the mirrorless format. I am shooting with an R5 and have the canon RF-EF adaptor. I seem to have an issue with my Tamron lens not being able to autofocus. The moment I mount the lens the camera allows MF only. Other 3rd party lenses I own work great. (sigma art 50mm1.4)

Is this a known issue or is this specific to my unit? Is there a way around this?

Thanks and sorry if the question has been asked before.

I have the tamron 70-200 2.8 first version with R6 and had not tried it until I read your thread. It does not focus and if you snap the photo anyway, I get ERR 01 communication error with lens message. I have the RF 70-200 F4 so never really had a need to try the Tamron. Maybe contact Tamron, and not sure they have self installed firmware updates like Sigma.

I have managed to Contact my local camera service agent. The Tamron can get a firmware update, but have had some instances of still not working with autofocus after the update. Guess I am in the market for a 70-200 f2.8

I just traded in my Tamron 28-300 for the canon 28-240mm RF. I have been using it for 5 years on my 70d, then 6d mkII with no issues. I have the Tap-in adapter to update the lenses. I checked for a lense firmware update (none). After updating the R5 to 1.5 I found that the focus was sporadic with the Tamron lense. I went in to check the 28-240 lense and it was no contest. I traded in the tamron for the canon RF. I only have a rokinon 85 MM ef lense left. I will not trade it in but keep it for my EOS film camera. That being said I have had no issues with the Sigma 150-600, but I replaced that with the 100-500RF.

I'm bumping this since I'm looking for a 70-200 to use on my R6.

I understand that this original post was about the older version of the Tamron 70-200 for the EF mount.