Followers
Following
Name
Dan Heinrichs
City/State
Morden Manitoba
CC Welcome
  1. Yes
So I went out today with my new R6ii and photographed some wonder Hoar Frost. It was an exciting day! I hurried home to have a look at what I got, eager to see my photos. Here's where the next wrinkle surfaces... I run an older Macbook on OSX10.15 Catalina. I have a subscription to Adobe Lightroom & Photoshop, however because my Mac is limited to running Catalina, I am not able to run the latest version of Lightroom - I'm limited to Lr11.5. Can you guess what else doesn't work... yep CR3 files.
So I google around and download Adobe DNG Convertor, install that and try again. It reads a couple of images from the first card that were shot in RAW, but won't read the images from today's card, which were shot in CRAW.

What gives? Has anyone come across this odd issue?

Is there a third party app that will convert CR3/CRAW to DNG?

I'm a PC user so I'm not much help, but there is a program for PC called Fast Raw Viewer. I think it's for the Mac as well? It won't convert for you but it will let you see what you've shot.
As for DNG, DNG is open source I believe, it was developed by Adobe on the TIFF format IIRC. I don't know of any other software company that will convert to DNG. However - why not use the Canon proprietary software DPP to convert the ones you like to .tiff then you can open them in LR.

Here is the link for Fast Raw Viewer

I'm in the same situation as you, Dan, running a mid-2012 MacBook Pro so I can no longer update Lightroom (but I can update Camera Raw - more on that later). I don't think your issue has as much to do with cRAW as it does with the new R6ii raw files themselves. I don't shoot cRAW but I just tested importing both a RAW and cRAW image into Lightroom from an R6i with no issues. So I believe your issue has more to do with support for a new camera than it does with cRAW.