Made the big leap today....unexpectedly!

Bigpikle

Newcomer
Followers
Following
Name
Damon
Hi all - just a quick intro as I joined the R6 II club today slightly unexpectedly!

I've been a keen photographer for 35 years but work, family and other hobbies slightly sidelined it the last 10. My near-antique 5D mk1 and bag full of EF glass has sat mostly unused for much of that time sadly, replaced with my Ricoh GRD's and phone cameras. That was until today when I dragged it all to my local Wex Photo store to trade it all in for a..................................................................................................................... Sony A7 :oops::oops::oops:

I walked into the store to find it was an open day I had no idea about, packed full of shoppers and reps from many companies, including Canon. After dropping off my stuff I went to chat with the only rep with nobody around him and spent 20 mins getting hands-on with the R6 II and new RF L glass I hadn't seen before. Long story short, an impossible to refuse huge discount on body and lens saw me order a R6 II and 24-105 f4L in place of my trusty (read heavy archaic dust magnet) 5D and the original 24-105L!

Still slightly nervous about the purchase as I had decided this combo was well outside my price range and had only read a little about the R6, and was fully intent on deciding between an A7 III or IV, probably with some Tamron zooms. The Canon just felt great to hold and play with and the bonus of a 24-105 as a kit lens again, rather than the 28-75 options with the Sony, and the 8 stops of IBIS feels like its the right choice. I just retired very early and this kit is going to be primarily for travel photography as we now spend a lot of time travelling the UK and soon Europe, in our campervan. Small size, minimal kit to carry and flexibility of this setup will hopefully prove it was the right decision to blow the budget and stay Canon???