Canon repair center

fragglecasper

Newcomer
Followers
Following
Name
James
Hey guys, firstly thank you for allowing me into the group..

Secondly i just wanted to share an experience with ye, and hope someone can help.

I am a wedding photographer in Ireland, and i had an extremely busy 2023, 7 weddings in December of 2023, the last 2 weddings were the 30th and 31st,

I only ever use 3 lenses when shooting weddings, two Canon r6 cameras,
1 85rf f1.2 glued to my camera

And on the other camera i switch between my 15-35 f2.8 rf lens, and my rf 35 f1.8,

Anyway, the 15-35 lens has worked a treat for me, for the past 16 months, until i turned the cameras on for my last wedding on December 31st, the autofocus would not work, it just would not, it would manually focus no problems at all. But auto focus was not working. Took it off my camera and put the 35mm f1.8 on and finished out my year.
On January the 1st and 2nd i contacted canon.ie told them what was going on they created a label and i shipped the lens on the 3rd of January to Germany to their repair center. It was still under warranty in europe it is a 2 year warranty, never in 30 years have i ever sent anything back to canon, and i am a platinum member in the cps program Canon runs.

The lens spent 6 and half days travelling, and on the 10th of January the repair center contacted me back saying they wont repair it under warranty,
I asked why, they said the lens had been disassemble and put back together before it arrived to them and the entire insides need replacement. And the cost would be 1600 euros to repair the lens.

I said bullshite to that and i explained the lens worked perfectly for 6 weddings in December and on the 7th wedding it would not autofocus. I said i boxed it up and shipped it to ye.

They said no chance, there is no way this lens was operational when i had it.