R3 or R8 ? What body if you could get then at a huge saving ?

SO8

Well Known Member
Pro Member
Pro Member
Followers
Following
Name
John H
I have an R5

I have the chance to get a mint body at a huge saving ... but only one ..R3 or R8.

No options, one or the other.

Now, greed says R3 but common sense says R8. I would use the R8 with a 24-240. The R3 I would use with 24-70, 70-200 and 100-500 ... but I am a casual photographer these days. No sports or journo ... just street, location and fun.

Views ?

I guess I could sell either and not make a loss after say a year, such is the saving .... now I have tried the R3 in my hands and it is awesome but big. Great AF.

The R8 I have held in a sealed bag as the dealer only had a brand new one and not one to demo, Compared to my R5 to be fair the body felt tiny and actually great as a result as FF ... and the idea of 24-240 on it seemed good ...

But what do I do. I can afford the R3 at stretch but the R8 is more likely to get use ... or will it just make my R5 redundant ? R3 is so capable and stacked sensor ... but not the mp of the R5 and I love to crop ... Comments welcome .... as I could also get an RF 28-70 f2 at great discount but not if I got the R3. (I've had a 28-70 and loved it but traded it as not used too much)

What to do to best expand my kit ... or do nothing as I actually have what I need ?

sounds like your well connected when it comes to pricing

I've got small hands (and I'm old and don't feel like carrying that much weight) so it's definitely the R8 for me. It's never bad to have a back up camera, even if it's the backup to the backup. You've got some great connections.

My biggest hold up with the R8 was lack of IBIS and the smaller battery. Too bad you don't have the R6M2 as an option. I've found it to be absolutely stellar. The R8 uses the same sensor.

I'd go R8 for the size/form factor.

I’d probably see if I could get hooked up with the 85mm 1.2 DS…. 85mm is my happy place.