Newcomer
Pro Member
Pro Member
Followers
Following
Name
M. Leferfort
Hi

I'll be soon a proud owner of the EOS R8, I allready bought the 24-105 f/4 last month when it was on sale and secured the Canon adapter (with the ring).

What would be the next lens to go with the R8?

I am an hobbyist, using Canon since 20 years, but the R8 will be my first Full Frame, I like portrait, travel, street photography, architecture and landscape. I rarely shoot sport nor wild life.

During the past 20 years here the lenses worth noticing I acquired and used on my 7D:

EF 16-35 f/4 L IS USM (love it, eq. 25-56)
EF 70-200 f/4 L USM (rarely use it, eq. 112-320)
EF 40 f/2.8 STM (quite never used it, eq. 64)
EF 50 f/1.4 USM (love it, eq. 80)

EF-S 24 f/2.8 STM (quite never used it, eq. 38)
EF-S 60 f/2.8 USM Macro (love it, eq. 96)
EF-S 10-18 f/4.5-5.6 IS STM (usefull, eq. 16-29)

I "think" only the 16-35, 70-200, 50, & 60mm will be usefull, all the other will be useless or redundant on the R8.

I will see my usage with the 24-105, but I guess I will quite lack a good (and affordable) prime.

On paper ...
My 16-35 will become my new wide lens
My 50 will become my new nifty-fifty
My 60 will stay my macro / portrait lens

Quite not sure about my 70-200, I used it very occasionnaly on my 7D, and with the adapter it will become a monster ... I think it'd better stay with my 7D (which I passed to my son)

From what I described, what would be your recommandation?

After some though, I guess I will lack what I had with my EF 50 on my 7D : a good prime for portrait ... I guess to start the EF-S 60 will do the job.

Sure I would love to have the RF 85 f/1.2 L, but realisticaly, budget wise, my next purchase will be surely a non-L lens.

Thanks for your advice.

Last edited:
Enjoy your R8 when it arrives. Mine should be here some time today.
Keep in mind that I am a hobbyist who has never used prime lenses, only zooms: 16-35 F4, 24-105 F/4, and 100-400, all EF/L. I no longer have the EF 100-400 L.