Hi from Reno, NV

TMac99

Pro Member
Pro Member
Followers
Following
Name
Tracey
I am new to this photography thing. Now retired, and going stir crazy from Covid life, I was in search of a new hobby. I traded in my old T2i and picked p an R6 - that thing can make a photographer out of just about anybody. I am really enjoying it so far. Just took my first Milky Way photo yesterday, and have taken a few wildlife/bird photos also. Very happy with the results so far. So far I have the "kit" Rf 24 - 105 F4 , just picked up an RF 15 - 35 F2.8, and have the RF 24-240 zoom also.
Ft Churchill Milky Way.jpg
  • Canon EOS R6
  • RF15-35mm F2.8 L IS USM
  • 19.0 mm
  • ƒ/2.8
  • 20 sec
  • ISO 3200

welcome, tracey.

lovely astro photo - i've never tried that type of image, but this is creating a temptation.

welcome, tracey.

lovely astro photo - i've never tried that type of image, but this is creating a temptation.
I was lucky enough to stumble across a free online training course (total of 3 hours) about capturing the Milky Way. A photog holds the course once or twice a year in order to get interest in her paid MW training. I'd be happy to share the tips I received. It basically boils down to 2 things - an approximation of the right camera settings to use (a good starting point that needs to be adjusted for your individual equipment) , and the software tools necessary to make sure you can find the Milky Way in the sky :) I found that the low light performance of the R6 is great for astro - compared to others in the training, the noise levels in my photos was minuscule and really allowed the stars to pop.

Welcome Tracey and thank you for joining up here. Lovely shot of the Milky Way! Glad to hear and see that you are already putting your R6 through its paces! :)

Welcome Tracey and thank you for joining up here. Lovely shot of the Milky Way! Glad to hear and see that you are already putting your R6 through its paces! :)