JoeTheSnowPlowGuy

Well Known Member
Pro Member
Pro Member
Followers
Following
Name
AJ
Im looking at 100-400 zooms, the Canon RF, Sigma and Tamron offerings in EF. Price wise the Sigma and Tamron models used are roughly the same price as the Canon new. Both those lenses have slightly larger maximum apertures. I have the EF to RF adapter, and I have a T3, so I’m not too concerned with buying an EF lens.

Is any one lens better than the other? From what I’ve read it seems like they’re all six in one half dozen in the other. Sigma and Tamron do give weather sealing?

My primary use would be sports, and probably birds. I have a soft spot for shooting birds eve though I’m not very good at it. I don’t have the budget for the more expensive lenses with wider apertures, so I’m looking at these as alternatives.

I did like at the Tamron 70-210 F/4 and the various 70-200 f2.8 and 4 models. I think I’ll do a lot of field sports so more reach wouldn’t be bad, and I don’t think a 70-200 is long enough for birds. Any insight is appreciated. Thanks.

200mm is too short for birds. Unofficial rule of thumb is at least 400. While f2.8 is nice to have these days with IBIS/IS and modern noise reduction software f4 is fine, unless you really need that DOF. Less expensive and lighter as well. I'm seeing great Bokeh with shots on the 800m f11 lens so you can get it at f4. That is just my opinion of course.

I have thing for the RF100-500. I love it. Great with the RF 1.4. If you ever consider that lens and get the 1.4 you should know when the TC is mounted it does not retract to 100mm. 300mm only. Doesn't bother me but others don't like it.

I had the EF 100-400 II for many years. Great lens and version II is the key thing. Version 1 was not Canon's best. I used my 1.4 and 2X with that lens and the converter with the R.

The RF 100-400 is getting good feedback from users.